Tags

, , , , ,

Printed trousers were one of the big trends to come out of the Spring/Summer 2012 runways, and interestingly it was a trend that transcends gender. The men had them, the women had them. For you women out there I imagine it’s not too much of a stretch to don a pair of printed trousers, after all you probably wouldn’t think anything of purchasing a printed dress would you? It’s a bit different for us guys however, who mostly have something grey/black/some form of denim on the bottom half.

To be perfectly honest, trousers aren’t something I think about too often. If you looked through my wardrobe you’d find a sea of clothing for my top half, but a severely neglected (but beautifully folded) pile of jeans, chinos and the occasional short. The fact of the matter is that well, they’re just not very interesting. My trouser related energy generally goes into locating a pair of jeans, which is a nightmare in itself, so when it comes to trousers of any other variety I generally phase out. After all for us men it’s essentially a debate of exactly how slim we want the leg to be… that’s about the only real choice there is, unless you’re one of those brightly coloured Topman chino boys. I am not a brightly coloured trousers kind of guy. I never touched coloured jeans or chinos, and the thought of wearing something lighter than a mucky taupe colour on my lower half does in fact give me slight palpitations. To look down at my legs and see something other than a very dark denim blue worries me. I’ve got over this to the extent that I’ll wear chinos… but even then I feel like every single person is staring at my legs, despite them not giving two-hoots.

This year I’m doing something I haven’t done in a long time – I’m going on holiday. A real and actual warm climate holiday, and for this I’ve decided I’m branching out. Tentatively, and nervously, but I’m doing it. Yesterday I invested in some printed trousers. Oh yes, I did it. Wether or not they’ll ever see the light of day on my legs is another matter of course, but still, I’m a little bit in love with them. They’re from H&M‘s damn near impossible to find menswear label Trend – seriously, in the whole of London there’s about two stores that stock it – Covent Garden and Knightsbridge. They’re a rusty red colour and in my head, are perfect to be worn with a simple white t-shirt and sandals wandering round in the summer. In my head.

If money were no object of course I would have had these beautiful little ikat print numbers from Burberry Prorsum.

If your budget wont stretch to those little beauties either, Zara have done some great pairs – although some of them are for the braver folk amongst you. Not only have they produced printed trousers… they’ve also made them in silk. Are you man enough to don printed silk trousers?

