Tags

, , , , ,

The Good.

Mila Jovovich looked spectacular in Ellie Saab couture. Beautiful silver sequins and a killer red lip. That’s what you get when you invite a model to these things.

Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen. By far the best she’s looked this awards season. Good hair, good shape, great bold colour choice. That is all.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Tom Ford. I know I’m ridiculously biased when it comes to Gwyneth, but for me this is one of the looks of the night. It looks like something Grace Kelly would have worn in High Society. I could have done without the huge ring on the same hand as the cuff however…

 Michelle Williams in Louis Vuitton. It’s great to see a Vuitton dress as the Oscars, not enough Vuitton is worn at these sort of things. On screen this dress actually looked red, which made me really dislike it, but once the photographs started to come through the beautiful coral colour came out. I’m a fan. She looks great. I think it’s time for a new hair do though personally…

Rooney Mara in Givenchy. The breast flap section were a little odd and I can’t help but feel the fit is ever so slightly off, but over all I’m enjoying seeing her in something other than black. As usual, great hair and make-up – that’s how a brow should be. She is however still possibly the dullest person to see interviewed EVER.

Emma Stone in Giambattista Valli Couture. It’s perfect, she’s perfect, the pink colour’s incredible, and she had by far the best accessories of the night. Louis Vuitton jewels and clutch.

Octavia Spencer in Tadashi Shoji . Another beautiful look for her, her stylist is doing a great job. Beautiful silver colour and amazing beading, perfect shaping.

Meryl Streep in Lanvin. Colour, shape, fabric, the lot. I love it. Well done Streep, well done.

Jennifer Lopez in Zuhair Murad. When J-Lo gets it right, she gets it RIGHT. She can always be counted on for Hollywood glamour, and that’s exactly what she decided to bring with her this year.  AND there’s no over done hair or tanning, or make-up, so go team Lopez!

The Bad. 

I’m a fan of Rose Byrne and her style, she’s been a Top Of The Class before however I’m just not sold on this black sequinned Vivienne Westwood dress. For starters is it just me, or does it look like Vivienne Westwood had NOTHING to actually do with this dress? Someone could have told me it was Forever 21 to be fair and I’d have believed them. The sequins looked a little…cheap? Good hair though.

George Clooney‘s Girl-Of-The-Month… whats-her-name. Weird thing on the hip. Odd colour. Reminds me of a Quality Street wrapper. Marchesa. Meh.

Shailene Woodley in Valentino Couture. Good dress… if she was a little older. She needs to change stylists as she’s constantly being dressed far too old. You’re 20 years old woman, dress like it.

Viola Davis in green Vera Wang. I can’t say I’m keen on the hair at all. She’s looked so much better than this at the other awards shows this season. I’m also not a fan of the matching earrings, dress and ring… Why are they all so green? The dress also just gets into all kinds of Wang-nastyness from the lower thigh down.

Natalie Portman in Vintage Dior Couture. You’re better than this dress. Why did you do this? You’re better than this dress Natalie and we both know it.

Kristen Wiig in J.Mendal. Why do you keep picking this sickly nude colour for EVERY dress you wear? This is why you’re here Kristen. I want you to take to take some time to think about what you’ve done. You can do better.

…And The Stuff That Just Hurts My Eyes.

Jane Seymour. Why are you here?

Livia Firth. Oh come on, really? REALLY? What is with those bust bits?! Get your dress fitted.

