Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I do love Awards season. Oh lord I do. I might possibly one of the only people to stay up late to watch E!’s Live From The Red Carpet, and love every last minute. So, here it goes.

The Good

Emma Stone in Lanvin. Just beautiful. She’s built for it. My only little wish is that it had perhaps been in tonal shades of jewel green. Imagine how good that would have looked against her skin and hair… but even so, amazing.

Rooney Mara in Nina Ricci is a little predictable it has to be said, but it’s done seriously well. Great hair and make-up too. This all makes up for her lack of any form of personality during her interview with Ryan Seacrest.

Charlize Theron in Dior Haute Couture. Beautiful colour for her, amazing hair and make-up also, but that slit in the dress was just a touch too far for me. It looked spectacular when the fabric fell to cover the slit. If the slit wasn’t present I’d have been blown away.

Viola Davis in Emilio Pucci. That colour against her skintone? Beautiful.

Heidi Klum in Calvin Klein. Mostly she’s here because it’s a HUGE improvement to some of the monstrosities she’s turned up in before. Great colour, perfect necklace. She could lose the ring though. Matchy matchyness bugs me.

Zooey Deschanel in custom made Prada. Not my favourite look of hers but I applaud and appreciate the move to something less cutesy. Pat on the back.

Michelle Williams in Jason Wu. So graceful, so elegant… but the headband was too much for me. All I needed was some good earrings.

Tilda Swinton in Haider Ackermann. I’m not big on the colour but I’m all about actual outfit. Good choice. Well done. Etc. Etc.

The Bad

Angelina Jolie. I’m not a huge fan it has to be said, but this dress for me is just plain ugly. The colours are bad, the fabric looks cheap, and the handbag matching the colour of the weird turned over section? Hate it. I am however the only person who appears to however as people seem to be going mad about this look. Sometimes I worry that people are mentally unstable.

Tina Fey. I love you. I love you so, so much. Which is why I’m saying this, it’s out of pure love. That dress is bad… from the hips down it just dies.

Lea Michelle in Marchesa. Something just doesn’t sit right with this one for me. Maybe it’s all the fame-whore camera posing. Possibly.

The Stuff That Just Hurts My Eyes

Madonna. Ditch the gloves, ditch that horrendously ugly dress, and ditch the co-star who looks SO much better than you do. It just makes it look worse.

Sarah Michelle Gellar. What have you done? You openly admitted that you let your child pick your dress, and yes, it shows. It’s ugly. It’s awful. I want to cry.

Elle Macpherson. First your awful tan lines and now this? Hang your head in actual shame woman. What is that hem? Bad.

Roll on the Oscars.

