Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Christmas shouldn’t be a time for things you need. Well, it shouldn’t be in my eyes anyway. It should be about getting life’s little pleasures, things you might not buy yourself considering them a little too much of a luxury perhaps. So with that in mind here’s a selection of life’s best little luxuries, and if you can’t find someone delightful to give them then feel free to gift them my way.

 Alber Elbaz has always had a knack of creating desirable nick-knacks, his range of Lanvin figurines selling out for the past few season’s now.  This festive season Alber’s decided to give us a whole range of new collectables. My personal favourite’s the fantastically illustrated playing cards, and at £55 from Net-A-Porter they’re only just pushing into the luxury department. (That’s what I’m going to tell myself anyway, and suggest you do also.)

There are few stores that make me feel all warm and happy inside the minute I walk through the doors, and one of those is Jo Malone. Maybe it’s the luxury packaging or the beautifully simple bottles, either way it fills me glee. I’m a Lime Basil & Mandarin kind of boy myself, but the Wild Bluebell and Pomegranate Noir fragrance collections make perfect Christmas gifts. Who couldn’t want to find a Jo Malone package under their tree? Tim Walker’s beautiful photography for their Christmas campaign just makes me long to find a stack of those beautiful boxes come the 25th. Sigh.

 One rule I like to live my life by is that you can actually never have enough pyjamas. Okay so it’s not exactly a rule that’s going to change your life, but it’s going to make those Saturday nights in seem much less tragic for sure. Toast’s cosy selection of pyjamas and nightwear are pretty much made for gifting. Whether they’re male or female who exactly can object to something quite so cosy? Answer me that my friend.

 Absolutely anything from COS. Gift Vouchers or otherwise. Because it’s all amazing.

 I never used to be a candle person at all but lately I seem to have developed a sort of obsession. Byredo’s selection are pretty fantastic, with my personal favourite being Bohemia, although Bakers’ Guild is worth a sniff too; it smells just like Grandma’s house, sweetly perfumed like teacakes being baked in a hot Aga. Amazing.

Men can be tricky to buy for and so most people resort to asking straight out what they would like, in the hope of being sent an e-mail with direct links to useless pieces of cars or bad clothing from Superdry. I’m against this tradition whole heartedly. Don’t ask what they want, instead be a bit more thoughtful and buy them something cool yet inoffensive. Like this Aubin & Wills hat. Quirky yet simple, and if he doesn’t like it then you need to have a serious word with him or find someone else to buy for.

 If it’s stocking fillers you’re looking for then Net-A-Porter have really come up trumps this year. These oh-so-cute Marc Jacobs ear phones and Diane von Furstenberg iPhone 4 case wont break the bank will make it look like you actually know what you’re doing when it comes to artful present buying.

And if you’re wanting to splash on something a little more fancy for that special someone then why not look to Anya Hindmarch‘s amazing Bespoke service? There’s a huge range of products from diaries to bags but I’m opting for the black leather pouch which can be customised with any text you wish, so be inventive.

